Q+1: Recovery, Day 2

So it’s tomorrow now, only mid-day, and though I’ve been obsessing about alcohol and the fact that I’m not drinking and how is that going to work in my life, I’m enjoying the clarity.

More later.

Later: I’ve had a good day, no cravings to speak of. I’m still thinking about alcohol ALL THE TIME because this quitting thing is active and I’m trying to stay aware as I do it. But what I’m aware of is that I’m almost feeling like a switch has been tripped and I just don’t drink anymore. Period. I hasten to add that I know it sounds foolish, and I’m sure there will be greater challenges than those I faced today. But I’m taking it moment by moment, and so far, so good.

A particularly good sign is that I actually don’t know whether there’s any booze in the house and if so, how much. I know that when I stopped drinking for the night 2 days ago, there was still some wine in the fridge, and I’ve had the fridge open probably 35 times today, but never thought to check. So, it’s on my mind, but I’m not actually looking for it.

Leave a Comment